The Great Hope

John 14:1-3

Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me.2 In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.

Years ago I made a decision to watch as little news as possible. The negative weight of things I had no control over had become overwhelming, so for a good long while I refused to follow any kind of news programs. However, like many others, when the recent shooting took place in New England I was glued to the television. After a few days, though, I realized I was not watching anymore to hear news about the children. The children had passed and it was unspeakably sad, but even after I had heard all of their stories, I keep watching every day. I was wanting to hear something else. I was wanting someone to tell me about the young man. I was wanting to hear how someone’s little boy had grown up to feel so very angry and hopeless. But eventually I turned the news back off (hopefully for another good while) because no one could tell me that story.

Who can explain how hope dies in a human heart? What toxic ingredients mixed under the right amount of pressure produce and individual’s despair? I can not explain it, except perhaps to say, just as fungus grows in the damp absence of sunlight, despair grows in the lonely absence of God. A soul not in contact with its Father, falters and fumbles like a small child left behind to navigate the brambles alone.

But in the above verses can’t you just hear the Savior’s desire for intimacy with us. “Believe in me, I’ve made a place for you, I want you to be with me. I’m coming back for you.” These aren’t words of a Bible commentator, or preacher, or saint, or even of an apostle. These were Christ’s own words to you. Words of hope if ever there were. Hope that there is more than just this small planet full of great pain. Hope that we can be more than scared, lost children in a dark fairy tale. Hope that there is just infinitely more.

3 thoughts on “The Great Hope

  1. Wow. Very beautiful and spirit lifting. Glory to the God in the heavens. He is that never fading glimmer of hope.

    Very uplifting read.

Leave a Reply

