Mulligrubs VS. Motivation

imagesCAZID70N1 John 1:4 And these things write we unto you, that your joy may be full.

Winter is often a difficult time of year for many people. I am one of those many. If there is such a thing as Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) I definitely have it. I’m not going on anti-depressants for it, though, just popping a lot of vitamin C and dreaming of springtime! In the south we have a term for this sullen, yucky, pitiful, “Woe is me” attitude. We call it “the mulligrubs.” You can’t really put your finger on it, but you just feel like poop, whether it’s winter time or not. So I’m posting this to encourage myself and others that may be having “the mulligrubs”.

Mulligrubs VS. Motivation

Mulligrubs say: I can’t

Motivation says: We can with the help of Jesus

Mulligrubs say: Let’s go back to bed

Motivation says: Let’s make coffee and read our Bible before the kids wake up

Mulligrubs say: Nobody likes me

Motivation says: Let’s make a gift basket FOR someone who doesn’t like me

Mulligrubs say: I’m fat and ugly

Motivation says: Let’s exercise, take a shower, put on our makeup and eat a salad instead of a Quarter Pounder.

Mulligrubs say: Kids, will you just go watch TV and leave me alone!

Motivation says: Kids, let’s push back the furniture and play Twister!

Mulligrubs say: I don’t feel like doing homeschool with the children today.

Motivation says: Let’s keep working so we can have a nice long summer break!

Mulligrubs say: I feel like blah

Motivation says: I feel like being a blessing to someone today!

If you would like to add to the “Mulligrubs VS Motivation” list please leave a comment :o)

4 thoughts on “Mulligrubs VS. Motivation

Leave a Reply

