Homeschool Blessing Boomerang

imagesLuke 6:38

38 Give, and it shall be given unto you; good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over, shall men give into your bosom. For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again

I began my homeschool journey about five years ago with my oldest son Ethan. I was nervous, excited, and felt completely inadequate for such a huge job. A few days before I was to begin “school” a lovely lady in our church, named Angel, who had been homeschooling for years came up to me with a huge purple basket filled with goodies. “Here,” she said, “this is for you and Ethan. You’re going to do just fine.” The basket was filled with crayons, workbooks, snacks, and some candles and chocolates for me. I felt so encouraged and ready to start. I was reminded of this act of kindess a few weeks ago when another mother in our church shared with me that she was about to start pre school with her precious three year old. She was nervous, just like me. I didn’t have time to put together a basket like Angel had made me years before, but I did have time to jot down some preschool ideas that had worked well for us, grab up some books I was no longer using and write a little note of encouragement. I passed it on to the young mother. I didn’t really think about it much after that, just that I hoped it was helpful.
Two weeks later I was having a terrible Sunday. I had been feeling very discouraged about some homeschooling problems I was having with my youngest son, and just generally feeling like “What is the point?” And honestly was glad to be headed home for my bed, when the young mom approached me in the parking lot at church. “I didn’t have time to look at the stuff you gave me till just the other day, and it really encouraged me. I’m so nervous about homeschooling, but I feel better after reading your letter. Thank you.” And she handed me a gift bag filled with goodies as a thank you. I cried the whole way home as the Lord reminded me again, “You’ll do just fine.” Sometimes trying to be a blessing to someone else comes back to bless you on a dark and dreary day.

One thought on “Homeschool Blessing Boomerang

  1. Amen , Sarah… Nothing on earth feels better than knowing you had a little part in being a blessing to someone. It always comes back too. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

