Books for Our Spirit

It is common knowledge to those who know me that I am a book worm. Unashamedly! In my younger days I thought reading period was virtuous, that there was not a better pass time and it didn’t matter what you were reading as long as you were reading. As a result I was not very discerning in some of the material I exposed myself to. As I’ve gotten older, though, I’ve come to understand how very influential the written word can be on our spirits. This works both positively and negatively. Obviously the word of God is the most influential of texts, but there is much to be said for other spiritual books that can help shed light on our Christian/human experince. I am a firm believer that good spiritual books and biographies of spiritual leaders should definitely be a part of our quiet devotion each day (secondary to the scriptures of course). So every so often I will be reviewing such a book here to share with you little literary treasures that have helped me on my spiritual journey and that could perhaps also be a blessing to you.

untitled Today’s book is probably one of the first spiritual books I ever read as a young lady. My mother purchased it for me when I was 18 years old and I’ve lost count how many times I’ve read it. “Stepping Heavenward” was written by Elizabeth Prentiss, a great Christian author of the 19th century. It’s a lovely, old fashioned book. It is fictional but heavily based on the author’s own experinces as a young woman, wife and mother. Written as journal entires spanning a woman’s life from her young unmarried days, through the early years of her marriage and even down the dark path of losing a child and growing older. It is more than just a diary though, it is a documentation of her spiritual journey through the years, and how the Lord changes us over time into more beautiful creatures. It is one of those books that every time you read it you will learn something new, and see yet more and more you can relate to. Definitely one of my favorites. This is a lovely book to read and meditate on during your quiet time with the Lord.

2 thoughts on “Books for Our Spirit

    • I was fortunate to find a beautiful antique copy of Stepping Heavenward a few years ago. It even had an inscription in the back from a man to his wife or sweetheart telling her how he hoped the book was a blessing to her, dated June 15th 1886! Needless to say, it’s one of my prized books :o) Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

